The Truck Types We Service

At Mobile Fleet Services of Virginia, we service all types of commercial trucks that may be used in your business. To classify vehicles, the U.S. Department of Transportation (USDOT) categorizes them based on gross vehicle weight ratings (GVWR) in classes 1 to 8, and they are also classified more broadly by the USDOT's Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) as light-duty, medium-duty, and heavy-duty:


Light-Duty (Classes 1 to 3)

GVWR’s up to 14,000 lbs

Trucks categorized as light-duty are often used for work truck jobs, and contractor truck jobs, and the like. Certain types of walk-ins, city delivery trucks, and box trucks are under this category. Some examples of light-duty trucks are Ram 3500, GMC Sierra 3500, Isuzu NPR, and GMC Savana.

Medium-Duty (Classes 4 to 6)

GVWR’s from 14, 001 lbs. to 26, 000 lbs.

On the lower-end of the medium-duty truck category are ambulances, box trucks, or wreckers. Beverage trucks, rack trucks, single-axle trucks, and school buses are some of the vehicles that also fall under this category. Some examples of medium-duty trucks are the Ford F-650, Freightliner M2 106, and International Durastar.


Heavy-Duty (Classes 7 to 8)

GVWR’s from 26,001 lbs. to over 33,000 lbs

Sleeper cabs, dump trucks, truck tractors, and cement trucks are examples of heavy-duty vehicles. Some examples of heavy-duty trucks are the Ford F-750, International WorkStar, and Mack Granite.

Vehicle Classifications and Safety Standards

Gross vehicle weight ratings (GVWR) represent safety standards used to prevent overloading and are designed to limit the maximum weight of a vehicle including fuel, passengers and freight. Basically, the manufacturer (Original Equipment Manufacturer, or OEM) determines the maximum acceptable weight of the vehicle based on things like axle strength, brake efficiency, tire capability and the vehicle’s frame.

Exceeding a truck’s GVWR can cause safety concerns such as brake failure, tire strain, ineffective suspension components and other issues, so it is important for all carriers and drivers to understand the limits.


Vehicle Regulations and CDL’s

If a vehicle has a GVWR of over 10,001 pounds and is used for a business, which includes non-profit businesses, then they are subject to federal and state safety regulations. Even though a driver does not need a commercial driving license for Class 1 through 6 vehicles, every vehicle that has a GVWR over 10,001 pounds must be identified with the name of the company and the US DOT Number.

The driver must operate under the regulations concerning hours of service and medical examinations are required for drivers. Any vehicle over 10,001 pounds is required to stop at state weigh and inspection stations. The heaviest require drivers to get a Class-A or Class-B commercial driver’s licenses (CDL). Class-A CDLs are for combination vehicles like tractor-trailers, while Class-B CDLs are for non-combination vehicles.

Contact Us

Contact us today to schedule your next fleet maintenance or
repair service.